Alanis Morissette Drops New Single ‘Smiling’

Alt-Rock icon Alanis Morissette has released a brand-new single, “Smiling,” from her forthcoming album, Such Pretty Forks in the Road.

The song is the second single from the album and revolves around the theme of facing the ups-and-downs of life, all while keeping a smile on your face.

“This is my first wave of my white flag/ This is the sound of me hitting bottom/ This my surrender, if that’s what you call it” she croons in the pre-chorus of the tune.

Co-written with Michael Farrell, “Smiling” was originally composed for the Broadway show, “Jagged Little Pill,” which was inspired by the singer’s 1995 album of the same name.

Morissette is also gearing up to head out on a 31-date North American tour in honor of the 25th anniversary of Jagged Little Pill.

The trek is scheduled to kick off on June 2 with a show in Portland, Oregon, and will continue through the end of July. She will also be joined by musical contemporaries Liz Phair and Garbage.

She recently added a string of European dates to the tour, beginning with a gig at the Royal Arena in Copenhagen on September 23.

Morissette took to Twitter to announce the release of the new single, in addition to which she also shared the official tracklist of the upcoming album.

Such Pretty Forks in the Road Tracklist:

1. Smiling
2. Ablaze
3. Reasons I Drink
4. Diagnosis
5. Missing The Miracle
6. Losing The Plot
7. Reckoning
8. Sandbox Love
9. Her
10. Nemesis
11. Pedestal

Source: Read Full Article