Three House Republicans fined for refusing to wear masks

Three Republican members of Congress were fined for their refusal to wear a mask on the House floor.

Rep. Mariannette Miller-Meeks of Iowa, Rep. Brian Mast of Florida and Rep. Beth Van Duyne of Texas were slapped on Friday with a $500 fine from the House sergeant-at-arms over the infraction, according to a statement from the House Ethics Committee, Roll Call reported.

The three are the only known members who have faced official penalties so far, the outlet reported.

As of June 11, the House attending physician Brian P. Monahan said that those fully vaccinated against the coronavirus would no longer need to appear masked in the House chamber.

Share this article:

Source: Read Full Article